OLD BONLLWYN BRIDGE
(Date unknown, but possibly around 1920)
Ammanford (south) is towards the left of the photo; Llandeilo (north) to the right. The thatched cottage at the left was demolished long ago. Bonllwyn farm at the right, however, is still there. The original hump-backed bridge proved inconvenient for the rapidly increasing traffic on this stretch of the A483 Swansea to North Wales trunk road and was demolished in the 1960s. The replacement is a rather charmless new bridge with metalled side-walls instead of the picturesque stone of the original.
Old Bonllwyn Bridge, coloured as it might have appeared.
Date this page last updated: October 1, 2010